Salmon everywhere!

Living in Alaska we are always stocked up on salmon.  Seeing how fishing season is well underway again, my freezer will be full of salmon again by August.  When you live off the land and utilize what Alaska has to offer, you begin getting creative with recipes.  I’ve been eating salmon my whole life, but being able to make my own creations has made me enjoy it even more.  I remember when I was in high school and my dad did a huge dip netting trip and limited out on salmon (for my house we get 55 salmon per dip netting season), my parents made salmon for a week straight.  I think it took me about 4 years to enjoy eating fish again – and I still sometimes cringe!  Fresh salmon is incredibly healthy and can be extremely flavorful and since it is something we have so much of, we have it at least twice a month.
I’ve tried making a salmon en croute/salmon puff pastry and wasn’t as impressed as I had hoped…I think it lacked the flavors I longed for.  I’m not the kind of person who will eat seafood that still tastes like, well, seafood.  Any kind of seafood has to be smothered with seasonings or some batter to fry it up.  Anyway, my goal is to share some salmon rubs with you to try!!
All these rubs can be put on salmon with either some oil or butter and wrapped in foil.  I either bake at 375 degrees for 35+ minutes, or thrown on the grill until the fish is done! Now that summer is here and my old house gets extremely hot when I cook indoors, I try and cook most food out on the grill.  Grill=life saver 😉

Citrus Rub:
Italian Season
Lemon, sliced
Garlic pepper
Fresh Parsley

Spicy Salmon Rub:
Red Chile powder
Red pepper flakes
Paprika

Alternate Spicy Salmon:
Red chili sauce
Red pepper flakes

Lemon Pepper Rub:
Lemon Pepper
Italian Seasoning

<Insert Name Here>:
Soy sauce
Brown Sugar
Dijon Mustard
(Sounds strange, but oddly delicious!)

*The amount of seasonings you will need is dependent on how much fish you will be preparing for the meal.  Also, always make sure to use plenty of butter/oil so your fish doesn’t dry out during cooking.

Leave a comment