Cheesy Homemade Mac

I love comfort foods, mac and cheese is no exception, it is the Ultimate comfort food! It’s my son’s favorite thing to eat, period haha. My mom’s always made a homemade Mac and cheese that’s to die for, but I can never seem to make it taste like hers, so this time I broke the barrier of normal Mac and cheese and added some twists. It was such a hit  with my family that the entire pan (pictured above) was gone by the end of dinner.
Ingredients:

1 box (16oz) whole wheat elbow pasta, cooked as directed on box

1 stick margarine

1/3 cup Unbleached All Purpose flour

6 -8 ounces Velveeta Cheese, cut into cubes

1 – 1 1/2 cup milk

Pepper to taste

2 green onions, chopped

1/2 cup Italian Style Panko bread crumbs.

Prepare your noodles as directed in a large pot. 

Meanwhile, in a medium sauce pan melt margarine, add flour and mix until in corporated. Add milk and Velveeta, stirring often until cheese melts and begins to thicken. Add pepper. Remove from heat. 

Pour noodles into a heat safe 9×13 pan (I used my Large Rectangular Baker from Pampered Chef), pour cheese mixture over noodles and stir in the chopped green onions. Top with bread crumbs. Cover pan with aluminum foil and put onto indirect heat on the grill. I made Whiskey Flat Iron Steaks with this so our grill was already being used and heat between 350 and 400 F. I left the mac and cheese on the grill for about 30 minutes, let the onions release their flavor into the dish. 

Remove from heat and serve immediately!
Happy Cooking!!!(:

Leave a Reply

