Pizza Pasta!

Sounds interesting, but it is delicious!! I wasn’t sure what to make for dinner last night and it was a meatless night; usually 3 nights a week we have a meatless dinner.  My kids love pizza, but I am not the biggest fan all the time wanting pizza, so I thought about combining pasta with pizza (my sons favorites!).  This dish works as a main course but I feel it can be made into an awesome BBQ side dish for summer get togethers.

Ingredients
2 boxes rainbow spiral pasta, cooked
1/2 jar Barillo marinara sauce
1 tomato, diced
2 cups shredded cheese (I used mozzarella and monterey jack)
2 green onions, sliced
2 garlic cloves, minced
5 pepperocinis, sliced
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
salt and pepper to taste

 

When pasta is done cooking, drain water and add all the ingredients.  Let simmer on low until cheese is melted, stirring occasionally.

I served our pizza pasta with a very green salad and some homemade bread.
This recipe is very basic, but you can add any pizza toppings you’d like! Next time I will be trying it with pepperoni, olives, mushrooms, and peppers.
Enjoy!
& as always, HAPPY COOKING!

Leave a Reply

