Creamy Chicken Tacos

I LOVE tacos! And pretty much all Mexican food, shoot my wedding we are having a nacho bar lol. Anyway, I was tired of making the same kind of tacos  (ground beef, the toppings, tortillas). So I created something with chicken. Since we’ve been eating healthier, our red meat intake has decreased tremendously, don’t get me wrong I love a juicy steak, but my waist doesn’t.

Creamy Chicken tacos:

2 breasts, sliced in half

4oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup half and half

6 peppercinnis  (I enjoy the tangy flavor these added)

1 teaspoon pepper

1 Tablespoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Dash of red pepper flakes

Throw everything into the cockpot and cook on low 8 hours. During the last half hour shred the chicken with a fork. Let it cook the remaining time. 

Meanwhile, make some homemade tortillas (if you’re like me and prefer them over store bought). The recipe I use I like mainly because the tortillas are much thinner and tastier than store bought.

Tortillas:

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon Italian Season

1/4 teaspoon red chili powder

3/4 cup water

3 T olive oil

Combine all ingredients and mix until doughy. Turn onto a floured surface (or use the kneading hook on a stand mixer) and knead 10 times, about 1 minute. Let rest 10 minutes. Divide dough into 10 equal portions. Roll each out onto a floured surface. One at a time, cook in a large heated skillet that’s been coated with cooking spray. Fry on each side about 1 minute or until slightly browned. 
I served my tacos with some brown rice and red chili sauce that cooked in another crock pot. 

Enjoy & as always, Happy Cooking!(:

Leave a Reply

