Vanilla Pound Cake review 

Hi!!! Gosh I’ve been gone awhile! 😣

Well, I got married 2 weeks ago💍, we’ve had family in town, and our friends got married 3 weeks ago. Needless to say, this month has been hectic!!!! I love our family, but I’m glad it’s settled down,  some much needed relaxation is in order but I don’t see that happening any time soon! We’ve got dogs, chickens, and a butt load of yard work to keep up on! It’s overwhelming, but we make it work!
I love pound cake, I’d eat it every day if it wasn’t horrible for the waistline! 😂 being a bit skeptical on making one since I usually just purchase it, I wanted a trusted source for a recipe…Martha Stewart 😉


First off all, the recipe can be found here.  Secondly, I doubled it (made two loaf pans).  Then after it baked I added some fruit to it, which I’ll jot down below for you..

Martha Stewart’s vanilla pound cake has some mixed reviews, so I was a bit iffy. But these bad boys turned out absolutely amazing! Both loaves got eaten that night. Lol. My kids loved it, I loved it, and the husband loved it!

They were very filling, an excellent density to the pound cake. The flavor wasn’t too intense, but usually you don’t want that with a pound cake anyway. That left room for the berries to absorb into the subtle vanilla flavor. So good. I’ll definitely make again. 
Like I mentioned, I topped my pound cake with berries. Well, not just your ordinary berries..

Take 1.5 cups of frozen mixed berries (raspberry, blackberry, and blueberry) and heat in a saucepan with 1 teaspoon of lemon juice. Once they start to cook down and get hot add half a cup of granulated white sugar. Cook until sugar melts and mixture is bubbly. Remove from heat and let cool slightly. When cake is cool, add the berries. Serve it up!! 

#noregrets #iateawholepoundcake #thanksjillianmichaels #shekicksmybutt #workoffthecake

Leave a Reply

