Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Ahhh, it’s that time of year again! Pumpkin recipes galore!! The only prepared pumpkin anything I enjoy is pumpkin pie (from fresh baked pumpkin of course!) and yummy delicious pumpkin seeds! The best part is the kids love them too!

Last night was pumpkin carving night because here in Alaska where it’s already a balmy 26 degrees (thanks to the wind storm that seems to fixated on my house), the kids’ pumpkins will be- well- frozen outside and last all the way until after halloween.  Then they become treats for the moose and our chickens.

Anyway, down the what you popped over here for! After letting my seeds dry out for 24 hours laid out on paper towels, I tossed them in about 1/4 cup of melted butter (don’t judge me, I love my butter).  Then, I prepared 4 bowls as followed:
20161015_151610.jpg
1. Red Chile Seeds
1 teaspoon red chile powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

2. Sweet Sugary Seeds
2 T brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3. Cajun Seeds
1 T Slap Yo Momma cajun seasoning

4. Garlic, Sea Salt, and Pepper Seeds
1 teaspoon (maybe a little more) Garlic and Sea Salt powder
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Sweet and Sugary seeds I mixed 1 cup of pumpkin seeds. All others I used a little over 1/2 cup. Spread separately over foil lined baking sheets.
In a preheated oven of 400 degrees bake the seeds for 20 minutes (Sweet sugary Seeds approximately 30 minutes).
ENJOY! Happy fall cooking! (:

Leave a Reply

