Red Chile Inside-Out Enchiladas

Oh yeah, crazy name, crazy good flavor!!

2 pounds ground beef
1 can dark red kidney beans
1-4oz can tomato paste
2 chile peppers, finely chopped (I used thai chiles someone brought us up from California)
3/4 onion, finely chopped.
5 cups prepared red chile sauce
1 Tablespoon Coffee Rub (found at your local Lowe’s store, lol)
1 Tablespoon Pampered Chef Chile Lime Rub
Salt and pepper to taste
10 corn tortillas
8 ounces shredded cheese

First off, make your red chile sauce at least 2 hours ahead of time, I will post the recipe below.  The longer red chile cooks, the better it tastes. I’ve started making mine in a small crockpot and letting it cook on low for 4+ hours if I have time. That was not the case today!
In a big skillet brown hamburger meat, when it’s still a little pink add your seasonings, onions, peppers, kidney beans (with juice), and tomato paste. Let it cook until meat is done then set aside.
Warm 10 corn tortillas by wrapping them in a wet kitchen towel and microwaving for 30-45 seconds.  Assemble enchiladas one at a time.  Pour some red chile sauce along the bottom of a 9×9 casserole dish, enough to cover it about 1/4 inch thick. Dip a tortilla in red chile sauce until its covered, lay in casserole dish and place 1 spoonful of meat mix into the tortilla. Roll up. Continue until you use all 10 tortillas.  Then with remaining meat spread along the top of the enchiladas (creating the inside-out effect).  Pour remaining red chile over and top with cheese.  Bake in the oven for 30 minutes on 350 degrees.  Mainly until cheese melts and the sauce is bubbly.  Serve with sour cream, guacamole, lettuce, tomatoes, etc.

Red Chile Sauce recipe (from Grandma)
1/4 cup red chile powder
3 cups hot water
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup flour
1 teaspoon garlic powder

Mix water and red chile powder together and set aside.  In a saucepan (or crockpot) add oil and flour, cook until bubbly. Whisk in red chile.  Let cook until thick and heated thoroughly.  Like I mentioned previously, I’m keen on putting it in the crockpot, it gives the flavors time to become full.  You’ll notice a difference if you do let it simmer awhile.

My red chile gets sent to me from our Grandma, but I looked up where you can order some if you do not get the opportunity to purchase it from a local store.  If you’re like me, in Alaska, you don’t get the fresh seasonings and resort to having them shipped to you…sigh…
Heres one site: http://www.madeinnewmexico.com/Products/hatch-new-mexico-chile/new-mexico-chile-powders
HAPPY COOKING!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mrs. H says:

    This sounds delish. I never heard of coffee rub but I’ll be on the lookout for it now. I don’t go to Lowe’s too often but I may have to make a special trip.

    Like

    1. It may be carried elsewhere, that just happens to be the place I saw it and had to try it! I’ll keep an eye out too so I can post other places to buy it.

      Like

      1. Mrs. H says:

        I’ll have to check other places then too. Sometimes we get so caught up in buying the same-old things at the grocery we don’t slow down to see what might be new on the shelves. Thanks for keeping an eye out too!

        Like

Leave a comment