Music and Kids

Today, how we raise our kids is constantly under someone’s radar.  If you’re like me, you are kind of like whatever, I know how I DON’T want to raise kids, and don’t want to take anyone’s negativity.  I worked in a daycare for about 6 months and how the rules were was chaos…First off, kids music 24/7 – that NONE of the kids really enjoyed. So when my son was born 2 years ago, his first nursery rhyme was “I’m Yours” by Jason Mraz. I sang it to him every day when he’d get extremely upset and it seemed to work.  After that I assumed maybe it was any song I sang, so I started with 90’s country (my kind of country!!) and he loved it!  Rap he was NOT a fan of, can’t blame him though, Mom cannot rap!
Now that he’s 2, we have introduced him to rock, old and new, and he’s a head bangin’ fool!  So many people shake their head at me when they see me out walking with him and we have that music going.  Here’s the point though, it is not your kids nor your responsibility.  People said rock music was the way to bad life decisions, hmmm what?! I think how people end up making bad decisions has a correlation to the beliefs they are taught or what they are forced into believing.  I am very firm on manners, learning, and teaching how to behave in public.  I don’t think the music my son finds enjoyable is effecting his personality and I’m sure I am not the only one.
So all you rockin’ parents, keep on rockin’!

Leave a Reply

